Pinellas News

Tarpon students honored at CAP Awards Night

— Nonprofit community advocacy group Citizens Alliance for Progress held its 2014 Awards Night Ceremony last week to highlight the scholastic achievements of Tarpon Springs’ youth.
Elementary, middle and high school students convened at Tarpon Springs Elementary School for the event, along with many family members, Pinellas County Schools principals, representatives and teachers.
Individual awards varied in category and included Academic Excellence, Academic Achievement, Student Improvement and Most Athletic.
Event organizers also distributed the Bergstrom Scholarship, awarded to graduating seniors for their commitment to excellence, academic achievement, volunteerism and dedication to pursue higher education.
The scholarship was established in memory of late Tarpon Springs Police Chief Keith Bergstrom. A CAP press release provided by program director Carmen Wilson states that Bergstrom believed that education would enrich the lives of area youths and the quality of life for the entire city of Tarpon Springs.
This year’s Bergstrom Scholarship recipients were Kaila Crews and Savannah Bass.
Earning recognition for Most Athletic was graduating Tarpon Springs High senior and basketball player Jasmine Johnson.
Trending Now