Pinellas News

Tarpon Springs seats newest commissioner

TARPON SPRINGS — Rea Sieber officially took her seat as the newest City Commissioner last Tuesday, replacing her friend, Susan Slattery.

Sieber, a local business owner and president of the Tarpon Springs Merchants Association, picked up 45.08 percent of 3,962 total votes to win the March 11 municipal vote over two other candidates.

“I want to thank the citizens of Tarpon Springs for believing in me and supporting me and electing me,” Sieber said after thanking Slattery for her six years of service. “I believe in working hard and being a good listener and working together, and I promise to do that as your commissioner.”

Commissioner Townsend Tarapani, who ran unopposed, will serve another term.

“To be unopposed isn’t something that happens every day,” Mayor David Archie said. “It shows that the people of Tarpon feel that he’s done a good job.”

“It’s been nothing but a pleasure to serve on this board and I look forward to that in the three years to come,” Tarapani said. “I truly believe in this community, and I believe in the direction that it’s headed. I feel that we are 100 percent on the up-and-up, and the city gets better each week, month and year that goes by.”

Prior to ceding her seat to Sieber, Slattery thanked her fellow commissioners and spoke to those in attendance.

Following the swearing-in of Sieber and Tarapani, commissioners unanimously named Jeff Larsen vice mayor, taking over for Slattery.

Three new committee appointments were made as well on Tuesday.

Larsen will be the city’s representative on the General Employees Pension Board, Tarapani will sit on the Pinellas Collaborative–School Transportation Safety Committee, and Commissioner David Banther takes over for Larsen on the Pinellas County Homeless Leadership Board.

Trending Now