Port Richey residents elect new mayor

Port Richey residents elected Scott Tremblay as its next mayor during Tuesday's special election.

There will be a new face on Port Richey's shorthanded city council when the board reconvenes June 25.

Scott Tremblay, an attorney with an office in New Port Richey, won Tuesday's tight, five-candidate mayoral election by just eight votes. Tremblay received 27.61 percent of the 565 votes cast, edging former councilman Bill Colombo, 156-148.

Tremblay's election ousts Councilman Richard Bloom from the board. Bloom gave up his council seat to run for mayor and his now-vacant position will be filled by special election on Sept. 10. Bloom received 90 votes and finished in fourth, also trailing Todd Maklary (125 votes). Gregory Smithwick received 46 votes.

"I am honored to have been elected Mayor of the great city of Port Richey," Tremblay posted to his Facebook campaign page. "I am ready to get to work to make Port Richey a better place for all of us to live. I would also like to thank the other 4 candidates who all ran honorable campaigns."

While the special election was decided by a handful of votes, Pasco County Supervisor of Elections Brian Corley tweeted updates throughout the evening and posted that there will be no recount.

Tremblay will be sworn into office at Port Richey City Hall at 6:30 p.m., June 24. He joins active council members William Dittmer and Jennie Sorrell. Dittmer had been serving as acting mayor leading up to Tuesday's election.

The new council will meet for official public business June 25 and conduct a workshop and regular meeting.